In the opening leg of the 2019 Juan de Fuca Plate, Victoria Highlanders defeated Vancouver TSS FC Rovers 1-0 on a Victory Shumbusho penalty in the 67th minute at Swangard Stadium. In 2017 Victoria also opened the Juan de Fuca Plate with a 1-0 win at TSS, and went on to win the competition.

The Juan de Fuca Plate continues July 5 in Victoria with TSS looking to turn the tie around in the second leg. Tickets are available through the Victoria Highlanders.

Congratulations to the 2018 Juan de Fuca Plate champions, TSS FC Rovers!

2019 Juan de Fuca Plate Schedule
Date Home Away Score
June 7 Vancouver Victoria 0-1
July 5 Victoria Vancouver
Juan de Fuca Plate Standings
Victoria Highlanders 1 1 0 0 3 1 0
Vancouver TSS Rovers 1 0 0 1 0 0 1
Past Champions
1st Plate 2012 USL PDL Vancouver Whitecaps FC U-23
2nd Plate 2013 USL PDL Vancouver Whitecaps FC U-23
3rd Plate 2014 USL PDL Victoria Highlanders FC
4th Plate 2017 USL PDL Victoria Highlanders FC
5th Plate 2018 USL PDL TSS FC Rovers

TSS FC Rovers, going by Vancouver TSS Rovers for the 2019 USL League 2 season, are the defending champions of the Juan de Fuca Plate after taking the 2018 edition in the first two legs of a three-match series. Victoria won a consolation tie, however, and in 2019 both teams look closely competitive in the tight Northwest Division.

The first year of the Canadian Premier League has put a lot of focus on Langford's Pacific FC, and both Victoria and Vancouver have lost several top players to the pro ranks. Nothing could make their fans happier, and the Juan de Fuca Plate will doubtless highlight more future stars, but it does mean that the results of 2019's two-leg series are completely unpredictable.

Rules and About the Juan de Fuca Plate

The Juan de Fuca Plate is a supporter-sponsored competition for British Columbian clubs in the United Soccer Leagues League 2 (USL L2), formerly the USL PDL, a semi-professional league with clubs in Canada and the United States.

Founded in 2012 by supporters of the Vancouver Whitecaps and Victoria Highlanders, the Juan de Fuca Plate is meant to spur interest across British Columbia in soccer at the semi-professional level, and to inspire good-natured rivalry between the competing cities. Standings in regular season games between all USL PDL teams in British Columbia count towards the championship. Every year, the winner will receive the Juan de Fuca Plate.

After a two-season hiatus the Juan de Fuca Plate returned for the 2017 USL PDL season. For both the 2017 and 2018 seasons the competing teams were the Victoria Highlanders and TSS FC Rovers, with Victoria winning in 2017 and TSS in 2018. The two teams will meet again in 2019.

The rules of the 2019 Juan de Fuca Plate are: